lisa monaghan

Kebbede (1997). South Sudan: A War-Torn and Divided Region

South Sudan comprises ten states in three provinces: Upper Nile (Upper Nile, Jonglei, and Unity States), Bahr el Ghazal (West Bahr el-Ghazal, North Bahr el-Ghazal, EI-Buheirat, and Warab states), and Equatoria (Bahr el-Jebel, East Equatoria and Western Equatorial states). The region as a whole covers an area of 638,148 square kilometers, just over one quarter of Sudan's total area. It is an area as big as France, Belgium, and the Netherlands combined. It occupies approximately one-third of Sudan's Nile Basin. In 1993, the population of the region was estimated at 7 million, which was slightly over one-quarter of the country's total population. Several diverse ethnic groups inhabit the region, the Dinka, Nuer, and Shilluk being the largest. With a population size of about 3.6 million (approximately 12 percent of the population of Sudan), the Dinka are the majority in the region. They are spread over a wide area of southern Sudan. The majority ofthem live in Bahr el Ghazal and Upper Nile Provinces. A significant number also live in the southern part of Southern Kordofan Province. The Nuer, a population ofnearly 1.5 million (5 percent of the country's population) live between the Sobat and White Nile rivers in Upper Nile Province. They occupy extensive grasslands. The Shilluk live in the Malakal area along the west bank of the White Nile in Upper Nile Province.

Category: Anthropology and History, Conflict

Sub-category: Displacement and Protection of Civilian Sites, International Assistance and Interventions


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For the Audio Comments plugin to work, you need the Audior files to be uploaded to the wp-content/plugins/audio-comments/audior folder. For more details check out the installation instructions.